Indian polo | Delhi Polo Season 2016


27 November 2016 | Jaipur Polo Grounds

The Maharaja Hari Singh Memorial Cup finale took place at the Jaipur Polo Grounds.

The Maharaja Hari Singh Memorial Cup finale took place at the Jaipur Polo Grounds. The Two teams which took part in the final tournament are:

Delhiites Magazine:

Mr. Akshai Malik 0 Mr. Pranav Kapur +1, Mr. Shamsheer Ali +6, Bk. Mr. Samir Suhag +5

Sona Polo:

Mr. Sunjay J Kapur 0, Mr. Siddhant Sharma +3, Mr. Gaurav Sahgal +4, Bk. Mr. Abhimanyu Pathak +5

The game started at a slow pace with only 2 goals during the first 2 chakkars. Abhimanyu pathak scored the first goal for Sona Polo in the first chukker and Delhiites Magazine takes the lead in the 2nd chukkar with 2 goals by Sameer Suhag, leaving the score to be 2-1 at the end of the 2nd chukker.

A 60 yds penalty in the beginning of 3rd chukkar, in favour of Sona, converted into goal by Abhimanyu Pathak. But Samir, in full form, losing no time maintained the lead by scoring another thrilling goal for delhiites. The excitement was at peak in the last chukkar, when a equalizer was scored by Sona Polo. But in Delhiites favour, Samir’s action play and the team support of Shamsheer Ali, Akhsai & Pranav, the team scored the winning goal in true last 50 seconds of the game.

Sameer Suhag scored all the four goals for Delhiites Magazine defeating Sona Polo with the final score being 4-3. The Maharaja Hari Singh Cup was instituted in 1995, in memory of the late Maharaja Hari Singh of Jammu and Kashmir. After the match, all the players and guests gathered for a prize-giving ceremony. The Delhiites Magazine team received the honorary trophy and the title of this year’s Maharaja Hari Singh Memorial Cup.